## COUNCIL

At a meeting of the Council on Friday, 18 May 2007 in the Council Chamber, Runcorn Town Hall

> Present: Councillors Swain, Bradshaw, Blackmore, D. Cargill, E. Cargill, Cole, Cross, Dennett, Findon, Fraser, Gerrard, Gilligan, Harris, Higginson, Hignett, Hodgkinson, Horabin, Howard, C Inch, D Inch, Jones, Leadbetter, Lewis, Lloyd Jones, Loftus, A. Lowe, Marlow, Massey, McDermott, McInerney, Morley, Nelson, Nolan, Norddahl, Osborne, Parker, Pearsall, Philbin, Polhill, E Ratcliffe, M Ratcliffe, Redhead, Rowan, Rowe, Sly, Stockton, Swift, Wainwright, Wallace, Wharton, Whittaker, Worrall and Wright

Apologies for Absence: Councillors Drakeley, Edge and Thompson

Absence declared on Council business: None

Officers present: D. Parr, D. Johnson, I. Leivesley, G. Meehan, M. Noone, J. Whittaker, M. Winstanley and L. Cairns

Action

Also in attendance: 36 Members of Public

## COU1 ELECTION OF MAYOR AND DEPUTY MAYOR

Moved by: Councillor M.Ratcliffe and seconded by: Councillor Sly

RESOLVED: That Councillor Michael Hodgkinson be elected Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal Year 2007/2008.

Moved by: Councillor Gerrard and seconded by: Councillor Stockton

RESOLVED: That Councillor Kathleen Loftus be elected Deputy Mayor of the Borough for the Municipal year 2007/2008.

# THE MAYOR (COUNCILLOR HODGKINSON) IN THE CHAIR

COU2 MINUTES

The Minutes of the ordinary meeting of the Council held on 25<sup>th</sup> April 2007, having been printed and circulated,

were taken as read.

RESOLVED: That the Minutes of the meeting be confirmed and adopted.

COU3 THE MAYOR'S ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor had no announcements to make at the present time.

COU4 BOROUGH COUNCIL ELECTION RESULTS - 3RD MAY 2007

Details of the elections results held on the 3<sup>rd</sup> May 2007 were submitted for information.

RESOLVED: That the elections results be noted.

COU5 EXECUTIVE BOARD (SELECTION COMMITTEE) - 16TH MAY 2007

> The following recommendations of the Executive Board were moved by the Mayor and seconded by the Deputy Mayor.

COU6 - LEADER AND DEPUTY LEADER OF THE COUNCIL

**RESOLVED:** That

- (1) Councillor McDermott be appointed Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2007/2008; and
- (2) Councillor Polhill be appointed Deputy Leader of the Council for the Municipal Year 2007/2008.
- COU7 BOARDS, COMMITTEES, APPEAL PANEL AND WORKING PARTY

RESOLVED: That the following Boards, Committees, Appeals Panel and Working Party be constituted with the membership as shown for the Municipal Year 2007/2008:

#### **Executive Board (10)**

Councillors McDermott (Chairman), Cargill, Gerrard, Harris, McInerney, Nelson, Polhill, Swain, Wright and Wharton.

**Executive Board Sub- Committee (3)** Councillors Wharton (Chairman), Harris and Nelson.

3MG Executive Sub-Board (3)

Councillors Polhill (Chairman), McDermott and Wright.

### Mersey Gateway Executive Board (3)

Councillors McDermott (Chairman), Polhill and Wharton.

## **Corporate Services Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors Gilligan (Chairman), A. Lowe (Vice Chair), Bradshaw, Bryant, Dennett, Edge, C. Inch, Loftus, Nolan, Norddahl and Wainwright.

#### Healthy Halton Policy and Performance Board

Councillors E. Cargill (Chairman), Loftus (Vice Chair), Gilligan, Higginson, Horabin, C. Inch, Lloyd-Jones, J. Lowe, Marlow, Swift, and Wallace.

#### **Urban Renewal Policy and Performance Board (11)**

Councillors Hignett (Chairman), Morley (Vice Chair), P. Blackmore, Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Leadbetter, Murray, Nolan, Rowe, Sly and Thompson.

## Employment, Learning and Skills and Policy Performance Board (11)

Councillors Jones (Chairman), Fraser (Vice Chair), P. Blackmore, Edge, Findon, Howard, Lewis, Parker, Rowe, Stockton and Worrall.

#### Children and Young People Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Dennett (Chairman), Horabin (Vice Chair), Drakeley, Fraser, Gilligan, Higginson, D. inch, J. Lowe, Parker, M. Ratcliffe and Stockton.

### Safer Halton Policy and Performance Board (11)

Councillors Osborne (Chairman), Stockton (Vice Chair), Edge, Lloyd Jones, Morley, Murray, E. Ratcliffe, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Swift and Thompson.

#### **Development Control Committee (11)**

Councillors Nolan (Chairman), Thompson (Vice Chair), P. Blackmore, S. Blackmore, Hignett, Leadbetter, Morley, Osborne, Polhill, Rowan and Sly.

#### **Business Efficiency Board (11)**

Councillors Leadbetter (Chairman), Lloyd-Jones (Vice Chair), Cross, Findon, Jones, A. Lowe, Norddahl, Osborne, Philbin, Sly and Worrall.

#### Standards Committee (8)

Mr W. Badrock (Chairman), Parish Councillor Crawford, Mr A. Luxton, and Councillors, Lewis, Parker, Redhead, Swain,

	and Wharton.	
	Appeals Panel (20) Councillors Wainwright (Chairman), Parker (Vice Chair), Bradshaw, E. Cargill, Dennett, Fraser, Gerrard, Horabin, Howard, C. Inch, Jones, Loftus, J. Lowe, Marlow, M. Ratcliffe, Redhead, Rowan, Swift, Wallace and Worrall.	
	<b>Regulatory Committee (11)</b> Councillors Philbin (Chairman), Wallace (Vice Chair), Bryant, Cross, Drakeley, Howard, D. Inch, A. Lowe, Nelson, E. Ratcliffe and Wainwright.	
	Local Development Framework Working Party (15) Councillors Polhill (Chairman), Harris, Hignett, M. Hodgkinson, C. Inch, McDermott, McInerney, Murray, Nolan, Parker, Redhead, Rowan, Sly, Wainwright and Wright.	
COU8	- ANNUAL REVIEW OF CONSTITUTION	
	The Council's Constitution had been reviewed and the proposed changes recommended were outlined in the report of the Strategic Director – Corporate and Policy, which had been circulated with the Summons.	
	RESOLVED: That the Council's Constitution be amended as proposed.	Strategic Director - Corporate and Policy
COU9	EXECUTIVE BOARD PORTFOLIOS	
	The leader confirmed that the Executive Board would consist of the following portfolio holders in the forthcoming year:	
	Children and Young People – Councillor McInerney Health and Social Care – Councillor Gerrard Planning, Transportation, Regeneration and Renewal – Councillor Polhill Environment, Leisure and Sport – Councillor Harris Community – Councillor Wright European Affairs – Councillor D. Cargill Corporate Services – Councillor Wharton Quality and Performance – Councillor Swain	
	Neighbourhood Management and Development – Councillor Nelson	

RESOLVED: That Councillor S. Blackmore be appointed Scrutiny Co-ordinator for the 2007/2008 Municipal Year.

#### COU11 MEMBERS ALLOWANCES SCHEME 2007/08

Council considered the report of the Independent Members Remuneration Panel regarding the review of Halton Borough Council's Members' Allowance Scheme.

#### **RESOLVED:** That

- having regard to the Report of the Independent Remuneration Panel, the current Members' Allowances Scheme be rolled forward for a further three years (or until amended sooner); and
- (2) the Constitution be amended accordingly at Chapter 6.

#### COU12 PERFORMANCE PLAN FOR 2007/08

Council considered a report of the Strategic Director – Corporate and Policy regarding the Council's Performance Plan, which the Authority was required to publish each year by the end of June in order to comply with the Local Government Act 1999.

The draft mandatory plan as it currently stood had been circulated with the Summons and it was proposed that the Council authorise the Chief Executive, in consultation with the Leader of the Council, to finalise the draft for publication.

**RESOLVED: That** 

- (1) the draft 2007/08 Performance Plan be approved; and
- (2) the Chief Executive be authorised, in consultation with the Leader of the Council, to make any amendments to finalise the Performance Plan for publication.

## COU13 CIVIC SUNDAY

The Mayor announced his intention of attending Divine Service to be held on Sunday, 22<sup>nd</sup> July 2007 at St Edwards RC Church, Ivy Street, Runcorn at 9.30 am and invited Members of the Council, employees, representatives of public bodies, organisations and associations within the Borough to join him.

Meeting ended at 7.15 p.m.